Our brand new exhibit, Ceramics: Settling the Prairies opened Thursday, September 3rd, 2015. This exhibit has been a two year labour of love on behalf of our Exhibition Intern Franchesca Hebert-Spence and the Museum is ecstatic to showcase our expansive Victorian ceramic collection in this fashion. The exhibit seeks to understand the dynamics between the budding city of Brandon, the waves of immigrants coming to Canada and the effects imports had on available tableware. The exhibit features a variety of collections like Spode, Madalta, Blue Willow, Belleek and Staffordshire, just to name a few.
For more information on the exhibit, please contact the Museum at 1-204-727-1722 or email@example.com.
Embroidery can be categorized according to whether the design is stitched on top or through the fabric. Embroidery styles include free embroidery, cross-stitching, canvas, cutwork, etc. Matreials used in embroidery vary from place to place. Wool, linen and silk have been used as both fabric and yarn for thousands of years. Modern embroidery thread is manufactured in cotton, rayon and novelty yearns as well as the traditional wool, linen and silk. Ribbon is sometimes used, most commonly to create floral motifs.
This piece was donated by Carol English in 2013. She bought it from the Rosewood Funeral Home, later became Brockie Donovan. It was originally owned by Mrs. Leonida Leatherdale, the founder of the Embroiderers’ Guild of Canada (later Embroiderers’ Association of Canada). She founded the EAC in 1973. The frame is from The Little Gallery (Gordon Smith Co. Ltd.) in Winnipeg, MB.
Mrs. Leatherdale and her guild became the first chapter of the EAC. The head office is located in Winnipeg, MB. The founding members believed this was the best location to start branching out to other guilds to the eat and west.
The frame also has a Winnipeg art connection. Gordon A. Smith, a Modernist painter, was born in Sussex, England in 1919. His family emigrated to Canada in 1933. He taught and did commercial design in Winnipeg before serving as an intelligence office in World War II. He returned wounded in 1941 and spent the rest of his career in Vancouver, British Columbia.
This collection was brought to us by Peggy Mansoff of Brandon, MB. These tools belonged to her husband, the late William Frederick Mansoff who was an automotive mechanic and welder in Brandon with a shop on Third Street. The E. O. Richter drafting set from 1939 was picked up by Mr. Mansoff in Germany during his service with the Loyal Edmonton Artillery during World War II. Emil Oskar Richter (1814-1907) founded the firm in Chemnitz, Saxony after training as a clockmaker. In 1892, he patented his “flat system”, copied by many others after his patent ranout in 1905. The firm became VED Kombinat (stated owned) until 1945. This is a very intricate and well-kept drafting kit.
The next tool kit is a micrometer set from Central Tools Co. dating back to 1912. The Central Tool Company (variously of Providence, Auburn/Cranston, RI) has a long history, beginning in 1908, trying to find niches in the highly competitive precision tools business. The company has since been in the same location since 1912 with early micrometers marked “Auburn” and later ones marked “Cranston.” The company, now named Central Tools is still operating and is still a family-owned/run business after over a century. This micrometer is marked with “Cranston” and has an interchangeable anvil set, with a range of 0-4”.
The last set is a Tap and Die set for Ford automobiles. It was used by William F. Mansoff at his automobile shop. The set was made by the Butterfield Co. & Inc. in Rock Island, Quebec. Butterfield Co & Inc. operated from 1879 to 1920 and opened an additional factory in Derby Line, Vermont in 1891. This set would be used to make nuts and bolts for Ford vehicles.
Here is another new piece to our museum’s collection! This needlework depicts the presentation of Katherine of Aragon to King Henry VIII. It is embroidered with silk thread. This is an exquisitely unique craft donated by Mr. George Moore of Brandon. It dates back to approximately the 1860s. This one of a kind piece is a welcome example of Victorian handicraft!
This fantastic addition to the Daly House collection comes from Margaret Masar of Orofino, Idaho. She was a resident of Brandon back when the Museum was operating as The Maples children’s home. The story she tells is that the basket was given to her grandfather,Lt. Col. Francis Joseph Clark and was intended as a cradle for her uncle, William Francis McKinnon Clark. William was born on Aug 5, 1909 which makes the basket approximately just over 100 years old. Lt. Col. F.J. Clark had a distinguished military record, serving in the 1885 Northwest Rebellion, the Boer War in South Africa and leading a battalion in World War I. He later became a vibrant member of the community in Brandon’s foundling years, continuing his service to the arts and municipal affairs.
Baskets of this kind are traditionally made from willow, ash or birchbark. This bassinette is woven with wicker, made from willow. Baskets are traditionally made starting with the base and working around the sides. The branches of the chosen wood would be picked and dried before production began. They would then be re-hydrated to make the branches pliable and workable during the weaving process.
Basketry extended into the making of many other materials used daily including fishing nets, animal and fish snares, cooking utensils that were so finely woven that they were waterproof, ceremonial costumes and baskets, and even plaques.
Daly House Museum’s new children’s summer program, Through the Looking Glass: Flashback to a Victorian Summer will be open for registration, beginning on July 8th, 2015. The Museum is excited to put on a uniquely Victorian experience for children ages 5-12.
Our new summer program explores what it meant to be a kid before skateboards and iPads! This program demonstrates what it was like to be a child in the Victorian era. This includes how children helped around the house and how they played during their new-found free time. There is a wide variety of crafts and activities that children will love. Participants will go on a tour of the Daly House Museum, followed by a toy making session and outdoor activities. Children will make crafts that reflect the era’s simplicity and practicality.
Join us in tracing the footsteps of a typical Victorian child, from doing outside chores like laundry and to playing parlour games and acting like the great Sherlock Holmes! Through the Looking Glass: Flashback to a Victorian Summer runs from July 8th, 2015 to August 28, 2015. It runs every Wednesday from 10 am to 1 pm, rain and shine!
Daly House Museum’s new exhibit Smocks, Frocks and Covers will be opening to the public on June 20, 2015. The Museum is delighted to showcase eighty-two aprons personally collected by Helen Drysdale, director of the Beautiful Plains Museum in Neepawa, Manitoba.
“I’ve always loved aprons.” explains Helen Drysdale. “I began collecting aprons when I discovered an unfinished flour sack in my late Mother-in-law’s belongings and it is an honour to share them with the public.”
Through the designs and styles of the aprons on display the exhibit questions society’s view that women’s handiwork is a craft rather than an art form. Each apron on display were made by individuals rather than mass produced on an assembly line. They reflect a moment in the life of their creator as the decorations, colors, and patterns were chosen by the individuals who would wear the aprons.
“When viewed as a work of art, there is a higher appreciation for the time and craft involved.” commented Franchesca Hebert-Spence, Daly House Museum Exhibition Intern. “And while the artists of these beautiful creations are maybe unknown, the flair and skill required to craft these pieces is evident.”
“The aprons showcased in this exhibit are not just an item that our Grandmothers or Mother’s may have made or worn but a reflection of the changing attitudes of society and the role of feminism towards the role of women.” stated Museum Curator Eileen Trott.
Children will be able to enjoy the exhibit as much as the adults through activities in a discovery kit related to the exhibit. The discovery kit will be available at the front desk for families visiting the Museum over the summer. Smocks, Frocks and Covers runs from June 20, 2015 to August 15, 2015.
Daly House Museum is the original home of Thomas Mayne Daly, the first mayor of Brandon. The house contains four floors of artifacts and archival materials representative of Brandon’s early history and the Victorian era. The Museum’s hours are Monday to Saturday 10:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm and Sundays 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm (July to August).
For further information please contact Daly House Museum at (204)-727-1722, firstname.lastname@example.org or dalyhousemuseum.ca
Welcome! You may just be browsing our website, but to us, you’re already a visitor. You’re about to discover cherished antiques and the most extensive collection of early Brandon, Manitoba photographic history – in an historic setting. Enjoy your visit!
Hours of Operations
September – June Hours: Tues to Sat:
10:00 am – 12:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
July – August Hours: Mon to Sat:
10:00 am – 12:00 pm
1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Sun:
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Note: Second and Third floors are not wheelchair accessible.
$5 Seniors, Students & Children
$2.50 per student and $3.00 per adult ( Teachers free)
School group tours must be pre-booked two weeks in advance
SAVE THE DATE!
Our fundraising dinner and AGM is coming up on Saturday, March 7, 2015 at the Ukrainian Reading Association Hall 1005 Assiniboine Avenue, Brandon, Manitoba. In addition to a great home style meal, we will be featuring a dramatic presentation entitled ” Nellie McClung and the Woman’s Parliament.” featuring Karen Chrest as Nellie McClung.
Tickets are $25.00 each and are available at Daly House Museum 122-18th Street. Call 204-727-1722 to order your tickets today!